Welcome to the

Mill Prong House


Est. 1795

A Saga of Highland Scots in Carolinas, Their Neighbors, & the Nation They Helped Form 

The Historical Significance of Mill Prong 


Erected in 1795 by John Gilchrist, Sr., the Mill Prong House bears witness to the varied cultural layers that shaped the Cape Fear region. The house was owned by two Scottish families in its 200 years as residence. The house is a tangible reminder of their legacy. as well as the emergence of a political and social order that is unique to the Lumber River and Cape Fear River valleys. 


Come and experience the lives of the Gilchrists, McEacherns, and other Scots American families as they did business, worshiped, socialized, and carved a place in the history of northwestern Robeson County (now Hoke County). 

Why the Name 'Mill Prong'?

The mill in the name of the property comes from the McPhaul's Mill, a mile away, and a 'prong' is a tributary of a creek, Raft Swamp to be exact. The prong ran through the historic estate.

Annual Meeting

Please join us at the Mill Prong house for our Annual Meeting on Sunday, April 14, 2024 from 2pm to 5pm. The meeting will include a presentation by Nancy S. Chavis, Director of the Museum of the Southeast American Indian. She will speak about the intersection of the Native American people in the surrounding area during the Colonial times. 

For more information, read the letter from Board President, Rebecca Vinroot:

On the first Sunday of each month, we have Open House from 2-5 PM with docent-led tours. Be sure to follow us on Facebook & Instagram - special events will be posted there.

FacebookInstagram